Nordstrom Lime Cilantro Salad Dressing

One of the jobs I had prior to graduating college was working in the Lingerie Department at Nordstrom slanging bras and panties to women (and the occasional man) of all ages, shapes, and sizes.  I learned the art of the hustle since my paychecks were based on commission, and I also frequented the Cafe inside the store I worked at.  I fell in love with their Lime and Cilantro Chicken Salad Dressing, among other dishes I could use my discount on.  After I stopped working there, I found myself missing it and thankfully Nordstrom published a cookbook a few years later.  Here’s the recipe for you to enjoy!

Nordstrom Lime and Cilantro Salad Dressing

Is it the prettiest dressing you ever did see?  Perhaps not, but it’s delicious and it’s packed with flavor so a little bit goes a long way.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1cup seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1cup lime juice
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 teaspoons chipotle chiles in adobo sauce
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1teaspoon salt
  • 3cup canola oil
  • 1 cup cilantro, chopped

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Puree chipotle chilies in food processor.
  2. Add all ingredients except oil and cilantro to processor and blend.
  3. Slowly add stream of oil to form emulsion.
  4. Add cilantro to processor and pulse to combine.

    Add Cilantro Last

The salad that Nordstrom used the dressing on had baby greens, corn, chicken breasts, plum tomatoes, jack cheese, roasted red pepper, and toasted pumpkin seeds.  It goes great as a thin sandwich spread, dipping veggie sticks, everything you’d use a vinaigrette on really!

NOTE: A small can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce will give you way more than you need for this recipe.  You can easily just freeze leftover peppers in a small plastic dressing container.  About two peppers fit per container, and it’ll thaw overnight.  I love the smoky flavor it adds to dishes and will share another recipe featuring chipotle peppers soon!

4 thoughts on “Nordstrom Lime Cilantro Salad Dressing”

  1. Thank you for sharing this, my mom had the recipe book from Nordstrom but I couldn’t find it anywhere in her house. I wanted to borrow it just for this recipe. So thank you, again

Leave a comment